New Comic Books: June 7

NEWCOMICS

A short week, and a few classic comebacks for me, personally. Well, one classic comeback, as I start to take on the daunting task of catching up on my favorite comic as a kid, Spawn. The two big-guys for DC have new books this week, and Marvel’s lone release I’m interested in stepped up its action and weirdness in a big way.

BAT

My recommendation for the week is absolutely Batman #24, with an intensely personal and revealing conversation between Batman and Gotham Girl showing Bruce’s thoughts on him ever hanging up the cowl. After his Father told him to stop being Batman, we were all wondering where it would go, but now we have our answer. It’s not going to happen, but that doesn’t mean Bruce can’t be happy. After a romp around the rooftops with Catwoman, Bruce reveals he bought the diamond he took back from Selina in their first meeting, saving it for the right time. He pulls out a ring, and in what is the most longtime coming moment in all of comics, pops the question.

The bad news? This happens the issue before the fabled War of Jokes and Riddles begins. Which we have been teased with in other books for months.

SUPERMAN

The other big one for DC is still on a roll right now, as well. Superman continues to feel like a throwback book for me, and Manchester Black (and now Superboy Black) are just upping the nostalgia factor by ten. We finally get Black’s motivations for all the secrecy, and methodical manipulation of Jon, and his big plan to turn Jon into the “justice-dealing” killer he thinks Superman should be. Overall, another great entry into the continuing rise of Superman among the ranks for me with his Rebirth titles. There has yet to be a single miss since his re-launch.

BB

Marvel’s only big release for me, Black Bolt #2, almost didn’t get read this week. The first issue was slow, boring, and light on any kind of story. This next issue? The complete opposite. The art was incredible and engaging, with a load of exposition, and fantastic action sequences. Black Bolt has instantly become one of Marvel’s strangest titles, and if it keeps up this pace, it will absolutely not disappoint.

SPAWN

When I was a kid, Spawn was my favorite hero. He was edgy, and cool, and his toys were the most kickass thing you could own when you were a 12-year-old. Since those years, a lot has happened in the Spawn mythos, and while I occasionally try to jump back in, I’ve never been able to fully immerse myself. Well, now the time seems right for me to catch up, and really dig in. Really remind myself why I loved this character and this series. It’s going to be a long road, since I had no idea what was happening in this issue, but I’ll get there.

Leave a Reply

